Our Work - Tanzania


The Tertiary Education Scholarship Trust (TEST) for AFRICA gratefully acknowledges the generous donation of £ 30,000 by members of The Funding Network's Special Funding Group in providing the seed funding for the formation and initial years' operation of TEST for TANZANIA. We are delighted to receive their support to expand TEST's activities in Tanzania where there is a clear need for the provision of scholarship support for tertiary education 


TEST for Tanzania  was formed by a group of graduates from Linacre College, Oxford University and is a constituent member of the UK Charity, TEST for AFRICA’s family and is managed by Trustees in Tanzania.  The objectives and approach are aligned with those of TEST for Africa (see overview).


There are currently 20 students sponsored by TEST for Tanzania. 


TEST scholars are provided with a mentor on campus to provide support and take a keen interest in the academic progress of the student.  After graduation, scholars are linked with businesses to help them excel both academically and professionally.   All scholars agree to work in Tanzania for at least 5 years after graduation, which helps with the social and economic development of Tanzania.

Fields of Study

Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, Dentistry and Pharmacy

Agricultural Sciences and Engineering

Mining and Petroleum Engineering

Geological/Earth Sciences

Civil, Mechanical, Electronic and Electrical Engineering

Computer Science

Biological, Biomedical sciences, Chemistry and Physics


Natural Resources and Environmental Management

Arts and Humanities (specifically Social Science, African Studies and African Crafts)

Economics and Business Studies (including Accountancy and Marketing)

Hotel Management

Construction, Architecture, Surveying and Planning

Other Tanzania Pages: Trustees I Annual Report I Contacts I Applications

gallery/screenshot 2019-10-24 at 11.11.24

TEST for Tanzania Trustees, from left to right: Prof. Ralph Peter Masenge, Ms. Elizabeth Kironde, Mr. Beatus Mwendwa, Ms. Aisha Sinda, and Mr. Tumaini Thabiti (on the occasion of signing the registration documents, Saturday 5 th July 2017)